John is an Honorary Research Fellow in CSIRO, Member of National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training (NCGRT), Advisory Board, a former Commissioner of the National Water Commission, Council Member of Adelaide Uni, Chairman of the Commonwealth Dept of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry ‘Eminent Scientists Group’ and a Board Member of Earthwatch Australia. John has previous roles as; Deputy Chief Executive of CSIRO, the SA Director-General of Agriculture, Chairman of the SA Centre for Natural Resources Management and was Chair of the Board of the SA Research and Development Institute. From 1985 to 1992, John was involved with establishing the Murray Darling Basin Commission in its present form, being an SA Deputy Commissioner 1985-90, and SA Commissioner from 1991-3. John has a Centenary of Federation Medal 2003 – for his service to Australian society in environmental science and technology, a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) 2001- for his contribution to natural resource management and a Order of Australia Medal (OAM) 1987 – for his personal contribution to the development of museums in SA.

Visit organisation website